Connect with us


YUVA’s Breast Screening Camp was held today



Panaji: YUVA, National Youth Awardee Organization based in Panaji along with IMA Tiswadi and YouWeCan Yuvraj Singh Foundation supported by IMA Goa, SBI Foundation, Goa College of Pharmacy and Tanisha organized Breast Screening Camp on 8th May, 2022 at Goa College of Pharmacy, Panaji from 9am to 2pm.

Dr. Shekhar Salkar (Consultant Oncologist) was the Chief Guest and Dr. G.K. Rao (Principal of Goa College of Pharmacy) was the Guest of Honour along with Dr. Mahendra Kudchadkar (President IMA Tiswadi), Dr. Anand Dalvi (Secretary IMA Tiswadi), Dr. Rufino Monteiro (President IMA Goa), Dr. Dayanand Nayan, Dr. Sitakant Ghanekar, Dr. Tarna Khadpe, Dr. Sabreena, Shri. Raghuvir Mahale (Founder), Shri. Gopinath Chandelkar (Health Secretary), Shri, Nehal Malik (Women Secretary), Shri. Shashank Sukhthankar (Treasurer) and Mrs. Manaswini Prabhune (Tanishka) were present.

Shri. Raghuvir Mahale, Founder of YUVA welcomed the guest and people who attended the camp. He introduced about activities of YUVA for last 10 years and also urged people to come ahead and attend the free camps and take benefits of the facilities. Dr. Mahendra addressed the gathering and thanked pharmacy college for the venue and appreciated work of YUVA for last one decade. Dr. Rufino Monteiro stressed on role of women in society and requested more women to come up and get them examined during such camps. Dr. G.K Rao expressed happiness over the work of YUVA and appreciated them for taking keen interest in health sector of the society. He also expressed his wholehearted support for such camps in future. Dr. Shekhar Salkar was happy to know about the activities undertaken by the organization and gave brief on Breast Cancer and its causes. He also stressed that early detection can help women from this deadly disease and lead a long life. He urged women’s to do periodical checks and also opt for self examination method.

Over 80 women were screened for the camp. Shri. Gopinath Chandelkar and Shri. Nehal felicitated Dr. G.K.Rao whereas Dr. Mahendra Kudchadkar and Dr. Rufino Monteiro felicitated Dr. Shekhar Salkar.
The function was hosted and vote of thanks was proposed by YUVA member Shri. Sanath Bharne.