Connect with us


First batch of International delegates arrive in Goa for G20 Health Meeting



Panaji : The first group of international delegates arrived at Goa Dabolim Airport early on April 15 to attend the 2nd Health Working Group G20 Meeting from April 17 to 19, 2023. The group consisted of Francoise Vanni, Stephen Murphy, Dylan Pulver, Stephanie Seydoux, Alain Labrique, Derrick Muneene and Garrett Mehl from Switzerland, as well as Elise Anthony and Steven Posnack from the USA.

Upon arrival, the delegates were welcomed with a musical performance and escorted to a reserved lounge by CISF personnel and designated LOs, where they were served Goan snacks such as Ragi chips, Cashew nuts, and tender coconut water. A colourful and creative Rangoli was created at the arrivals gate, to welcome the delegates to India and showcase the local culture. They were then taken outside the airport on a red carpet and transported to the Grand Hyatt Goa.

The airports in Goa have made arrangements and taken steps to ensure that the arrival process is efficient. Additionally, services such as a money exchange counter and SIM card counter are also available at the airports.

“Other delegates are expected to arrive in Goa over the next few days at either the Dabolim Airport or the Mopa international airport. The first meeting of the G20 summit in Goa is the Health Working Group, where participants will discuss health policies and initiatives. The G20 summit is an important event, and this meeting of the Health Working Group could impact future global health policies significantly,” an official told reporters.

The Group of Twenty or G20, is the premier forum for international cooperation comprising of the world’s most-powerful 19 economies and the EU. The G20 group was established with the goal to solve major global issues which are related to the stability of International Finance, the international economy, migration due to changes in climatic conditions, and sustainable development. Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Republic of Korea, Republic of South Africa, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States of America, and the European Union (EU) form the G20 group. Representatives from guest countries and international organisations have also been invited to attend the Summit.